The Dutch Door Diva

Richard is a dichotomy.  Pippi  is both procrastinator, and perfectionist.  When I first met him, we’d planned, because of our mutual love of renovating, decorating and wood-working, to do a series of fixer-uppers and flip them. We did ONE.  And I had to take a year-long break in Scotland to force the final stages out of him at that!  We DO, as you can see on Rural Revivals’ Renos. web-site ( http://rusticrevivals.wixsite.com/ruralrevivals) still harbour hopes of designing and re-doing small country spaces as a part-time hobby, but for the most part we are just concentrating on Blue Belldon Farm.  This is because Richard takes 3 times the amount of time needed to do any job/project.  Mind you, when they are done, they are done very, very well…

The same can be said for the Dutch Door. Since looking to rent a property in Burnsall Bridge when I first taught in England in 1997, I have harboured dreams of having a Dutch Door in my kitchen the top of which can be thrown open to the rolling meadows and daisy-butterfly summer morns.  Perhaps it even goes back further, to when I was 13 and my grandfather McKenzie and I built a small, red,  two-stall stable for my pony. He had Dutch doors on it, but with the “X”s  facing IN, to  which I always objected, as that wasn’t what it looked like in any photos I saw of horses looking over their stable doors! They were made out of quite flimsy plywood, too, and as I progressed from pony to horse, they used to get kicked off in the long cold winters when my poor beasties were bored to death.

 

 

When I had my own riding stable in the Ottawa Valley, from 1988-1996, I made sure we had the “X”s facing OUT  and that they were a lot stronger to hold the horses in, and the bad weather OUT!  They were lovely:

a-stable-life            Goldcreek Farm’s Overture with me, age 26. Behind, the “Dutch” stable doors.

Then, I moved to England to teach high school. It was in inner city Leeds, and I knew I’d need to live in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales to compensate for that, so I looked at 3 places to rent about an hour’s bus-ride out. One was in the gorgeous Burnsall Bridge, to which I’ve since returned many, many times .  The cottage had a little blue stable door in its kitchen and that was in 1997, and I’ve dreamed of having one ever since!

burnsall

So now, at Blue Belldon, the  Dutch Door Dream begins.  I imagined, even by Richard’s m.o. and standards, it would take about 10 days. I mean, it’s only a DOOR, for Gosh sakes!  ………It’s been just over 6 weeks.

If you’re interested in the whole process (ie: you or someone you know will make you one), click on each photo to read caption. Otherwise, continue scrolling down!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This is the finished inside of the Dutch door, which I stained to go with the pine wainscotting, then distressed to make it look older and more worn. NO varnish or shellac! It’s not eco-friendly, and the shiny look certainly doesn’t help anything look ‘old’!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Richard shows off the hardware we purchased online. It’s hammered steel, and while he had trouble figuring out the bolts and latch, it works a treat now!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Finally, after 6 long weeks, the DIVA finally has her Dutch Door! Love it, and the front porch is truly my favourite place to sit on the whole property!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
In case you’ve forgotten, this is the glorious view from that front porch!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
So easy to just throw open the top half for a breather from canning/preserving/baking/cooking, if I like, or to grab some herbs from the herb garden (see prior posting of the way I recycled some of our kitchen drawers on the front porch for this).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Richard enjoys a well-earned rest on the front porch whilst I beam happily from within. The long wait has been worth it!

 

3 thoughts on “The Dutch Door Diva

  1. Congrats to you both – to Julie for the long-awaited dream & for the finishing & to Richard for his meticulous care in doing such an outstanding job in building a beautiful door! ( I do not remember that my dad put the Xs on the inside of the barn – too funny!)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.