Favourite Country Kitchen Items

towers cupboard1

The above is my 220 year old crazy quilt which I always have displayed somewhere in my kitchen, with the barnboard cabinet made by Malcolm Towers of Hamilton, Ontario.

https://www.facebook.com/malcolm.towers.31

The hinges are the same type that will be used when I’ve renovated /upcycled the kitchen cupboards.

Below, Marg Moylan personalized folk-art saw.

julie, quilt, saw

Below is the project I’ve just finished.  30 years ago I had a collection of International Coffee Tins sponge painted blue and white to match my dishes and to hold all my spices. However, I sold those years ago and have used the pigeon holes (from a hotel in London, ON) for a variety of many other uses.  Now, I want to have them back permanently in my kitchen, but couldn’t find old coffee tins, tea tins or anything the right size/shape. Thus, I very reluctantly bought boxes at the dollar store that fit (with chalkboard tops I can also use for labelling) and have aged and distressed and decorated them, along with 6 plastic ( I of course also hate plastic, but needed SOME that were air-tight).

pigeon holes

***above, pottery  oil light by Natalie of Remembrances:https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/RemembrancesPottery

and cloth gingham bags by Miriam, quilter/fabric collector: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/MiniMade

The plastic, which I would never use normally, was the same shape as my old International Coffee Tins, so I felt I had to use a few, but made myself feel better by knowing that, though imported boxes, the rest of the spice holders were at least wood and thus eco-friendly.  The plastic boxes were Mod-Podged, but not literally. (You do know that they sell that stuff at exorbitant prices but it’s really just cheap clear-drying thin white glue?  You can buy some cheap glue, and if it isn’t thin enough, add a few drops of water and stir! Cover surface with glue, tear or cut napkins or photos, pretty paper, etc., glue on and then when dry, paint over with the glue substance again, and it dries as a hard protective outer covering).  The boxes were lightly stained dark, then partially painted blue, which I then wiped off as a distressing technique, then I sponge-painted with white to match my sponged dishes, and sanded down/box-cuttered the edges, and finally put on matching labels from what I used on the plastic containers – a brown paper choice which kept the boxes looking old.

Another favourite of mine I hope to display in the kitchen is this “apothecary” for dried flowers and herbs, originally made by and for my Great Aunt Jessie, who was a wood-worker and made the wee drawers for all her hardware… I have a collection of old tins and bottles with mod-podged old labels on them (downloaded from internet) that look great in and around these apothecary drawers…

jess's apothecary

And lastly, a favourite kitchen display piece is my antique pine hutch which we ‘rescued’, primarily unwanted from an auction for $300.00 just a few years ago…

pine hutch

2 thoughts on “Favourite Country Kitchen Items

  1. Hi Julie,
    Love your blog, its great to follow your adventures and become more enlightened. I have started my own gardening blog and would appreciate any help you could pass along on how to use this site ie: how to put a picture with your blog? and anything else… I am a techno-dino!!! but I do know how to grow plants and gardens!
    Hope to hear from you soon..
    Scott Patterson (Marg’s oldest son)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tut,tut, scott – don’t use your brother’s name in vain! “techno-dino”. Putting up the photos is as easy as putting up the text – it’s the button to the left of where you press to put up a paragraph. Thanks for following, I’ll do the same and we can share info! Awesome! j

      Like

Comments are closed.